No bake chocolate brownies.

No bake chocolate brownies...and a very large knife.

 

Anyone who has tried some of my cake recipes in the past will have twigged that being vegan doesn’t automatically equal good health.

My personal battle is a reliance on refined flour and sugar – I’m a borderline addict!

Cue a health kick.

Still, just because I’m being all healthy doesn’t mean I want to forgo the odd treat.

Thanks to my friend and master baker Jess Crisp (check out her amazing cupcakes here), I don’t have to. She has kindly allowed me to reproduce her recipe for raw chocolate brownies.

You will need:

1 cup of mixed nuts (I used cashews, walnuts, brazils and almonds)

1 cup of dried fruit (I used mainly sultanas with some apricots and dates thrown in for good measure)

2 tablespoons cocoa powder

1 tablespoon agave syrup

1-2 tablespoons almond milk

In your food processor pulse the nuts until they are nice and crumbly then add the cocoa powder and pulse again to ensure the nut mixture is well coated. Add the fruit and pulse once more. Turn the mixture out into a bowl and stir in the agave and almond milk until you have a stodgy texture.

Press the mixture into a container and pop in the freezer to cool.

One response to “No bake chocolate brownies.

  1. I made these again yesterday but added a teaspoon or so of peppermint essence – it was totally divine!

Leave a Reply

