‘Sexy’ cake!

Image

I’ve heard many adjectives used to describe my baking efforts: ‘delicious’, ‘moist’, ‘scrumptious’, ‘disastrous’…but ‘sexy’ wasn’t a word I would have expected to hear in reference to a cupcake. Yet this is how my raspberry and chocolate chip cupcakes were described last weekend by my friend from the great Glasgow band The Meatmen. (Let’s take a moment to appreciate the irony of one of my favourite bands being called The Meatmen. Don’t let the name put you off, fellow vegans, they’re awesome. Check them out here: http://www.myspace.com/themeatmenglasgow)

So, on with the show.

For the cake:

1/2 cup vegan margarine/non dairy butter

1 cup sugar

3 cups self-raising flour

1 tablespoon apple sauce

1 cup non dairy milk (I used soya)

100g chocolate chips

Small pack raspberries

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

For the icing:

1 cup (approx) non dairy butter

Icing sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat your oven to 180c and grease a cake tin or line a cupcake tray.

Melt the butter and mix with the sugar. In a large bowl mix the flour, apple sauce, milk, vanilla extract, chocolate chips and raspberries (you can add the rasps whole or break them up a bit – I did the latter). Add the butter and sugar mixture and stir until combined but take it easy with the mix and don’t over-stir.

Pour into your cupcake cases or cake tin. If you’re making a large cake, bake it for about 45 minutes, cupcakes should be ready in about 15 – 20 minutes depending on your oven.

In a separate bowl cream the butter and vanilla extract and add icing sugar gradually until you end up with a thick butter cream. Spread or pipe the icing onto your cake(s) and decorate with fresh raspberries or chocolate chips (or both!).

Image

2 responses to “‘Sexy’ cake!

  1. Fiona Robertson

    Sexy indeed; I’m making these first chance I get! Yum!

  2. Fiona Robertson

    I’m making these first chance I get – yum!

Leave a Reply

