Root vegetable tagine with lemon infused cous cous.

I’ve gotten into a bit of a food rut recently; I tend to rotate the same few dishes each week. Without fail, I throw sweet potatoes into my trolley during the weekly supermarket trip but usually stick to making soup or curry with them so I fancied trying something different. My mum made me a delicious root vegetable tagine a few weeks ago so this was my attempt to recreate it.

For the tagine:

1 onion, finely chopped

3 sweet potatoes

1 cloves of crushed garlic

1/2 butternut squash

3 carrots

2 tablespoons tomato paste

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

1 1/2 teaspoons ground ginger

1 teaspoon cumin seeds

1 cup dried fruit

Dice the root veggies. Fry the onion in a little oil until softened, then add the cinnamon, ginger and cumin seeds and the crushed garlic. Cook gently for 5 minutes and then add the root veg. Stir in the tomato paste and lemon juice and then add some water. I didn’t measure the water but I would estimate that I put in around 300ml. You could use more or less depending on how ‘saucy’ you’d like the dish to be. (I actually put in a little too much water but just scooped some of the gravy out towards the end and used it to flavour the cous cous!) Throw in your dried fruit. I used apricots and dates but my mum’s version contained prunes; all work well with this dish so just use whatever you have kicking around your cupboards. Allow to simmer for around 30 minutes or until the vegetables are cooked all the way through.

For the cous cous:

Use 200g cous cous to serve 4.

Place the cous cous in a saucepan with a tablespoon lemon infused olive oil and a dash of cinnamon. Add 250ml of vegetable stock and bring to the boil. Once it has started to boil, remove the pan from the heat and allow the cous cous to absorb the water.

Fluff it up with a fork before serving,throw in a handful of raisins and mix. Serve with the tagine.

 

 

Leave a Reply

