Onion and redcurrant chutney.

I’m really happy with this recipe. Mostly because I kind of made it up on the spot and it turned out to be amazingly good. Which was a relief because I was catering for family visiting for my little vegan’s 4th birthday party!

Honestly, the chutney was so good I could have happily eaten it on its own straight out of the pan (ok, you got me, I actually did have a few sneaky spoonfuls) but if you are slightly more refined than I am, I have a few suggestions of how to use it:

Cheese and onion rolls:

Roll out some Jus Rol puff pastry (or other vegan puff pastry) and cut into about 9 squares. Add a dollop of chutney to each square and add a piece of vegan cheese. Fold each square over to form a triangle and then bake in the oven for about half an hour or until the pastry is fully ‘puffed’ and golden and smelling so good that you just have to have some now. These are great additions to a buffet (I discovered!) or make a lovely starter when served with a little side salad.

Sausage-less rolls:

Again roll out some puff pastry and cut into squares. Place a spoonful of chutney onto each square and add a vegan sausage. You could use Linda McCartney’s mini sausages but I made my own sausages using a packet of meat free Chargrill burger mix from Asda. Follow the instructions on the packet but form mini sausage shapes instead of burgers. Fry the sausages for a few minutes to brown each side and then add them to the pastry squares. Roll up and bake for 30 minutes.

Bruschetta:

Toast some ciabatta slices, drizzle with a little olive oil, and top with chutney and a few rocket leaves.

Now finally, the chutney recipe:

3 onions, thinly sliced

1 teaspoon brown sugar

2 dessert spoons vegan redcurrant jelly

1 dessert spoon olive oil

Fry the onions gently in a saucepan with the olive oil. Add the sugar once the onions have softened and cook for another couple of minutes. Spoon in the redcurrant jelly and stir until the jelly has melted. Cook on a low heat for about 30 minutes or until you have a nice sticky mixture. Be sure to check the pan frequently and stir occasionally. I’d love to tell you how long this would last if kept in the fridge but trust me, this is not a question you will need to ask – it’s so good it won’t even make it to the fridge!

Leave a Reply

