Black Forest Birthday Cake

I’m pretty much of the opinion that all chocolate cake is good chocolate cake – as long as it is cruelty free of course. It turns out, however, that all cakes are not created equal; I’m going to blow my own trumpet here and declare that I, Mrs Babystepsvegan, have created the Grandaddy of chocolate cakes!

But don’t take my word for it, try it for yourself.

For the (single) sponge:

4oz of non dairy butter

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup soya milk

2  and 2/3 cup self raising flour

1/3 cup cocoa powder

1 dessert spoon apple sauce

For the icing:

morello cherry jam

non dairy butter

icing sugar

vanilla extract

cocoa powder

NB: when it comes to icing, I NEVER measure the ingredients, partly because I’m lazy, partly because I like to have an excuse to dip a finger in the bowl for ‘testing’ purposes. Hmm, needs more sugar…

Method:

Preheat the oven to 180c.

Melt the butter in a saucepan and stir in the sugar. Keep the heat low as you really don’t want to risk burning the butter.

Mix the flour and cocoa powder in a large bowl. Stir in the soya milk (or other plant milk) and apple sauce. Add the melted butter/sugar mix and stir gently but thoroughly – do not beat. Pour the cake mixture into a greased cake tin and bake for about 40 minutes.

Now, you could leave it at that, but I was making this for a special occasion – my son’s birthday – so I thought that we could justify a second layer. I baked a second sponge using the method above.

After leaving the cakes to cool, I spread a very generous helping of cherry jam on top of the first sponge. I then added some vanilla icing (made by beating some ‘butter’ and adding icing sugar and a touch of vanilla extract until I had a nice thick texture which was easily spread on top of the jam.) Gently place the second sponge on top to make a ‘sandwich’ and using a palette knife coat the cake with a nice thick layer of chocolate frosting (made in the same way as the vanilla icing but replacing the vanilla extract for cocoa powder – the more cocoa powder you add the richer the chocolate flavour will be).

I covered the cake in vegan chocolate beans (at my son’s request) but I think it would be even better covered in fresh black cherry halves.

If you’re being ‘virtuous’ (and that’s a very loose interpretation of the word!) and having a single layer cake, simply spread the jam over the top of the sponge and then cover with chocolate icing.

I’m tempted to try replacing the vanilla icing for a layer of vanilla ice cream next time. In fact, now that I’ve suggested it, I feel it is my duty to conduct just such an experiment. I’ll let you all know how it turns out!!

4 responses to “Black Forest Birthday Cake

  1. Pingback: Black Forest Birthday Cake | VeganasFuck

  2. Looks really good but we can’t get self-rising flour here in Sweden. I wonder how much baking powder/soda I should use for the same result?

  3. Oh YUM, yes please!! 🙂

  4. This looks absolutely fantastic! 😀

    I might try and make it for my son.

Leave a Reply

