Date and Sultana Cake

Fellow vegan Jenny Hynd posted a variation of this recipe recently on a forum, having adapted it from a non vegan recipe from her mum. The original vegan version has 1 cup of sultanas and I’d like to say that it was a strategic decision to sub the dates but the truth is I just ran out of raisins and had to search the cupboards for a replacement! I have to say though that it worked rather well and of course dates are extremely nutritious – I’m having a bit of a love affair with dates right now so I’m happy for any excuse to use them and to get the kids eating them too!

2cups self raising flour

1 cup caster sugar

4oz vegan margarine

1/2 cup sultanas

1/2 cup chopped dates

1tbls apple sauce

Preheat your oven to 180

Melt the margarine and sugar in a pot but be careful not to let it boil. Add all the other ingredients, folding together rather than mixing. The original recipe calls for grease proof paper to line your baking tin but I had also run out of that (not doing so well today am I?!) but my non-stick loaf tin handled the job nicely and after 40 minutes in the oven, the cake slid right out of the tin. We each had a slice after lunch while it was still warm and it was AMAZING!!

I think next time I may try a variation with some chopped fresh apple and some cinnamon added. Because you can never have too much cake…

Thanks to Jenny for allowing me to share the recipe with you lovely folks.

2 responses to “Date and Sultana Cake

  1. want some of that on my next visit – I love dates

  2. I’m always happy for a reason to bake cake as you know!

Leave a Reply

