Banana Bread

A long day today – the weather is terrible and the boys and I have been stuck indoors.

Cue a mega craving for something sweet. I had some bananas winking at me from the kitchen counter so I decided to attempt a banana bread.

Actually finding a recipe would be far too simple, so I decided to make it up as I went along. And actually it turned out pretty well. My boys all loved it as is evidenced from the fact that half of it is already gone and I only took it out of the oven about an hour ago!

125g vegan spread (I used ‘Pure’)

100g light brown sugar

200g flour

30g ground flaxseeds

1 dessert spoon molasses

2 ripe bananas, mashed

2 teaspoons baking powder

Preheat your oven to 180c.

Cream the vegan margarine with the sugar then add the mashed banana and molasses. Once combined, add the flaxseeds and mix well. In a separate bowl combine the flour and the baking powder then gradually add this to the banana mixture until all thoroughly combined.

Spoon the cake mixture into a greased loaf tin and bake for 35 minutes.

The bananas make this a really moist cake – I think I may just have another slice with some vegan ice cream. Now that’s what I call a dessert!

2 responses to “Banana Bread

  1. This sounds lovely, I’ll be trying it. Hoping it’s more successful than my last vegan cake too – it fell apart as soon as it came out of the tin!

  2. I hope you like it! Regarding the cake – maybe try the oven at a slightly higher temperature and make sure the batter is mixed thoroughly (though not beaten). That should work, mine have always come out nicely and I’m no genius in the kitchen!

Leave a Reply

