Let them eat cake!

I’ll bet you feared that following a vegan diet meant you’d never enjoy a yummy slice of cake again. Well, fear not.

Here’s my recipe for a truly delicious lemon drizzle cake. (Adapted from a recipe in Animal Aid’s ‘I can’t believe it’s…vegan!’ booklet)

This cake is extremely easy to bake and gives a great result each time. I suppose you could use bottled lemon juice for convenience but I just love the smell of the fresh lemon juice in my kitchen – if I close my eyes I can just about believe that I’m back on the Amalfi coast…

300g white all purpose flour
3tsp baking powder
100ml vegetable oil
175g granulated sugar
1 fresh lemon

170ml water

mix the water, sugar and oil in a pan until sugar dissolves, add the juice from half the lemon. Leave to cool and add dry ingredients, folding mixture rather than beating it. Pour into greased tin (I use a loaf tin for no specific reason at all, but it seems to work quite well!) and bake at 180 for 30mins or until the cake is golden brown. Allow to cool for only a couple of minutes before turning out and leaving to cool on a wire rack.

Now for the drizzle

I don’t actual measure this part – I prefer to just wing it. Wait until the cake has cooled before you ice it, an obvious tip but if you’re like me you’ll have to force yourself to be patient!

Juice the remaining half of the lemon and add the juice to a bowl. Gradually pour icing sugar into the juice and stir through until you get the consistency you prefer for your cake. I like it a little bit runny so that it oozes over the sides of the cake as you smother it on.

And enjoy.

No chance of me turning into a skinny waif is there?!

4 responses to “Let them eat cake!

  1. ooh, that sounds yummy – you’re making me hungry. ‘Scuse me while I nip to the shops for a lemon…

  2. If you are feeling particularly indulgent then why not serve it with a dollop of vegan ice cream or some Alpro custard. Oh, I’m really hungry now!

  3. Pingback: Surviving a kid’s party | babystepsvegan

  4. Pingback: Going retro with pineapple upside down cake! | babystepsvegan

Leave a Reply

